PML-N govt is withdrawing the names of Prime Minister Shehbaz, Nawaz Sharif and Maryam from the ECL

Shehbaz Sharif Re-elected as Pakistan’s Prime Minister

Shehbaz Sharif, the candidate from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), clinched the position of Prime Minister of Pakistan for the second consecutive term today, marking Sunday as a significant day in the country’s political landscape.

Shehbaz Sharif Clinches Second Consecutive Term as Pakistan’s PM

In a closely watched session of the National Assembly, Shehbaz Sharif emerged victorious as Pakistan’s 24th Prime Minister, prevailing over Omar Ayub Khan, the candidate backed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-supported Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), in a discreet ballot.

Shehbaz Sharif garnered a total of 201 votes, solidifying his position as the leader of the house, while Omar Ayub Khan secured 92 votes, thereby claiming the role of the opposition leader.

US reacts as Shehbaz Sharif is elected new Pakistani Prime Minister

Under the chairmanship of National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, the session commenced with the swearing-in ceremony of PML-N’s Jam Kamal Khan, followed by the commencement of the voting process for the prime ministerial post.

The session’s outset was marked by chants from SIC lawmakers, protesting alleged electoral irregularities in the recently concluded February 8 elections, prominently displaying images of PTI founder Imran Khan.

A day prior, on Saturday, newly elected National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq greenlit the nomination papers of both contenders for the prime ministerial election after a thorough scrutiny process.

Which Smartphone Does PM Shehbaz Sharif Use?

The nomination papers for Shehbaz Sharif were submitted by PML-N’s Ishaq Dar, Hanif Abbasi, and PPP’s Khursheed Shah. Meanwhile, the nomination papers for Omar Ayub were presented by MNAs Barrister Gohar Ali Khan, Asad Qaiser, Riaz Khan Fatyana, Umair Khan Niazi, with endorsements from MNAs Mohammad Sanaullah Khan Mastikhel, Ali Khan Jadoon, Mujahid Ali, and Malik Mohammad Amir Dogar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap