5 Best Female Football Players Of All Time

5 Best Female Football Players Of All Time

Last Updated on: 2nd July 2023, 03:15 am

5 Best Female Football Players Of All Time

Football transcends gender boundaries and is based on teamwork and unwavering determination. With such qualities, everyone can shine, regardless of gender.

The rise of women in football has been gradual, but there is hope that women can achieve the same level of dominance and recognition as their male counterparts.

In 2023, the popularity of women’s football has reached unprecedented heights, especially as the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand draws ever closer.

It must be recognized that women in football have always been outstanding players who have had an indelible impact on the sport and have broken many records.

Here are the 5 best football players of all time:

Martha Silva

With remarkable avoiding skills and unparalleled scoring chances, former Brazilian striker Marta is considered the greatest soccer player the world has ever seen.

Marta, often known as Pelé in Rock, has made her name on the stage and is the first female footballer, regardless of gender, to score in five different World Cups.

The 37-year-old surpasses Pelé and other Brazilian players and boasts a remarkable tally of 109 goals in 155 caps, the highest in Brazilian football history.

The Dois Riachos-born player holds the record for most goals scored in FIFA World Cup history with 17 goals and also won silver medals at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games.

Mia Hamm

An exceptional striker, Hamm displayed midfield skills on the pitch, outmaneuvering defenders and scoring notable goals. He holds the record with 144 assists.

During his glittering career, Hamm won 275 caps and scored 158 international goals for the United States. In 2000 he won two FIFA World Cups, two Olympic gold medals, and one silver medal.

Before announcing her retirement in 2004, the 51-year-old was named FIFA World Player of the Year in 2001 and 2002. Today she is the owner of the club.

Michelle Anne Akers

A prominent member of the dominant United States women’s soccer team in the 1990s, Michelle Akers was a deadly forward who excelled as both a forward and a defensive midfielder.

With her impressive speed and size, she easily outperformed the defenders. Her most notable performance came at the 1991 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where she scored ten goals.

Despite being diagnosed with Immune Dysfunction Syndrome, Michelle Akers adapted her role to become a defensive midfielder and led her country to victory in 1999.

In recognition of her commitment to the sport, she received the Order of Merit from FIFA, its highest honor, and was also inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Birgit Prince

Known for her deadly scoring chances, Birgit Prinz is an eight-time German Footballer of the Year and the second-highest goalscorer at the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Prinz found success with the German team, winning the 2003 and 2007 World Cups and winning the Ballon d’Or and Silver Ball respectively. He has also won 19 national trophies.

Birgit Prinz retired from professional football in 2011 at the age of 34 and took up the position of sports physiologist for the Hoffenheim men’s and women’s teams.

Kelly Smith

Kelly Smith, England’s top scorer, has had an impressive international career spanning two decades, scoring 46 goals in 115 games despite numerous injuries.

Kelly Smith made history by becoming the first athlete in a sport to be named Big East Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in a single season.

Smith demonstrated his exceptional skills by helping England to their first World Cup qualification in 2007. He also played a role in the 2011 tournament.

Also Read: FIFA Will Start A New World Cup in 2025

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap